Meet Barbara Lynn Murphy, 2023 Lesfic Bard Award Winner for Fiction

Where were you when you heard you had won the Lesfic Bard Award?

I was sitting on my couch at 4 in the morning, being a little cranky because my dog had woken me up so early. Needless to say, my mood instantly changed!

What was your reaction? Complete and utter shock. The best kind of shock. And then gratitude.

Where were you born? Long Island, New York

Where did you grow up? We moved a few times, mostly between Massapequa and West Islip, NY, both of which are on Long Island.

Do you have any siblings? I have three amazing brothers.

How do you choose the names for your characters? Naming characters is so hard for me! I try to match a name to the character I see in my head as I’m writing. I also choose a name that I’m not going to hate typing a few thousand times.

What is the first piece you ever wrote? I wrote a short autobiography called “A Series of Critical Errors.” It’s never seen the light of day.

When you are writing each novel. Are the experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? There is a little bit of me in everything I write.

What is the hardest part of writing a book? The synopsis. Hands down!

Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just see where an idea takes you? I’m definitely a pantser. No outline and no idea where the story is going to go until the words hit the page.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up? I wanted to be a veterinarian until it occurred to me that someone might need me to treat a snake.

What was the first book you ever published? My first published book is called “Two Lives, One Heart”

Some quickies (pardon the pun—pick twelve):

Satin or Lace?  Satin

Hot or Cold? Hot

Camera or Canvas? Camera 

Denim or Leather? Denim

Talking or Texting? Texting

Irish or Italian? I’m both!  But Italian, for sure.

Thunder or Lightning? Thunder

The sound of a heartbeat or a crackling fire? Heartbeat

Holding hands or Holding her/his attention? Hands

Crayons or Paint? Crayons

Mountains or Beach? Beach 

Rain or Sunshine? Sunshine

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members that ‘surprised’ you?

If you could meet anyone famous, PAST or PRESENT who would it be, and why? Barbra Streisand, because I can feel her voice down into my soul.

Do you ever get writer’s block? Yes! I have it right now, and it’s been hanging over me for far too long.

Any tips on how to get through the dreaded writer’s block? I just have to push through, even when I know the words that are coming out are not good. Eventually, the dam will break, and something worth reading will land on the page (hopefully).

Do you read much and if so who are your favorite authors? I read every single day. In Sapphic fiction, I like Kristen Zimmer, Milena McKay, KJ. Outside of Sapphic, my favorite book is “A Prayer for Owen Meany” by John Irving. I also loved the Edward series of novels by Craig Lancaster.

What is your favorite word? Peace
What is your least favorite word? cunt
What turns you on? Intelligence
What turns you off? Ignorance
What sound or noise do you love? An acoustic guitar
What sound or noise do you hate? Shattering glass
What is your favorite curse word? Fuck
What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Animal rescue
What profession would you not like to do? Funeral director
If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates? Come this way. Your dogs are waiting for you.

What is the one thing that surprised you about becoming a published author? That the book that made me a published author was written in only about six weeks. I’m a true “pantser” and the book just came flowing out onto the page.

Leave a comment